Not only is hummus vegan (in most cases, that is), it’s a fantastic way to add a foundation of flavor to any meal or dish. If you’re looking for a truly scrumptious vegan hummus, look no further:
Here’s a look at how our hummus is made (it’s naturally vegan), why it’s such a healthy choice, and how to use it as the star of the show in many recipes.
Organic and Cold-Processed: Hummus with Loads of Flavor
Nutrition and Flavor
We use a different process to make our hummus: the chickpeas are prepared using cold, high-pressure processing. This allows our hummus to retain more nutritional value, and it makes for a better flavor and texture, without the need to use artificial preservatives.
Before we even look at ingredients, we need to understand the importance of how the ingredients are grown. Many hummus brands are made with mostly organic ingredients, but don’t focus on two of the most important ingredients: The chickpeas and the olive oil. We use fresh, organic/and or non-GMO ingredients. This makes a huge difference in the taste and freshness. Non-organic chickpeas are one of the foods most saturated with glyphosate, which is why it is is essental that you choose a vegan hummus brand that uses organic chickpeas. We know that you care about what you put into your body: And we’ve got you.
Common Questions about Vegan Hummus:
There are a lot of questions about hummus, so we figured we’d answer as many as we can.
What is Vegan Hummus Made Of?
Typically, hummus is vegan (it’s not raw, however), because the foundational ingredients are chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, and any seasonings you’d like to add some spice. That’s the best thing about hummus: You can add in so many different spices and ingredients to change up the flavor. That’s what we’re all about here at Hope – we love our Original Recipe, but it’s fun to mix it up with unique flavors such as Thai Coconut Curry as well.
Which Hummus Brands are Vegan?
It depends on the brand, but if you’re wondering which hummus brands are vegan, it’s best to simply go to the store and read the ingredients label. All our products, including our nut dips and guacamole are vegan here at Hope, but some brands add in dairy products for different flavors. It’s wise to check the label to make sure!
Is Vegan Hummus Good for You?
We’ve gone over the health benefits of hummus extensively in a previous post, but to sum it up here: Hummus is heart-healthy, great for inflammation, and is a great complex carb, which gives you a good energy boost. Basically, it’s the best snack choice (we know we’re biased, but come on – it’s so tasty!).
Is All Tahini Vegan?
Tahini is a main ingredient in hummus – it’s what makes hummus, hummus. Tahini is a paste made of sesame seeds. So, think peanut butter, but with sesame seeds. Because tahini is just ground up sesame seeds, it’s naturally vegan. Don’t assume that all tahini sauces are vegan, however. Some restaurants and brands add dairy to tahini sauces, so again – check labels.
Another benefit of using vegan hummus is that it makes vegan cooking so easy and so much tastier. Our hummus flavors are unique and make great additions to many different recipes. Here are a few of our favorites:
When you add our Red Pepper Hummus to this vegan queso, it gives is a rich, warm flavor that makes it oh-so-delicious. Use it to top your favorite nacho ingredients for a meal or snack you’ll make again and again.
This recipe features our Jalapeno Cilantro Hummus as well. And, when you use hummus as a pasta sauce, a whole new world of cooking possibilities open up. Hummus is creamy and the perfect texture to add an amazing depth of character your pasta.
If you’ve been looking for a vegan brand of hummus, you can stop your search. Hope Foods is dedicated to sustainably-sourced, organic ingredients to bring you the healthiest hummus possible. We work hard to create unique flavors you can enjoy as a snack, or add to a recipe for a great depth of flavor. What’s your favorite way to enjoy hummus? Order a tub (or five, we won’t judge) online and have it shipped right to your door!